I Believe…

I Believe... {the ponytail diaries}

I’m linking up with Amanda (The Lady Okie) and Megan (Semi-Charmed Kind of Life) today — I absolutely love this prompt. That’s all.

I believe…

in the road less traveled and getting lost

that everything happens for a reason

in reading

in eka pada rajakapotasana (pigeon pose)

that running is the best way for me to sweat

that the appropriate application of margaritas, cupcakes, chai, wine, and pizza can cure almost anything

that if you haven’t read Harry Potter you need to sit in a corner and think about what you’ve done with your life (and read the books)

in everything classic rock

that guys really do dig chicks who drive stick

that Lake Tahoe is a little piece of Heaven on Earth

in tipping generously

that there’s a special place in hell for people who drive in the exit only lane and cut back into traffic at the last second

in climbing mountains

in high-quality, universal health care and education (and that a teacher’s minimum salary should be $100K a year)

that parrotheads have more fun

that Madison Bumgarner and Buster Posey are em-effing demigods

that my generation got royally screwed (but that’s no excuse to bitch and whine and give in)

that every home should have at least one dog

that “even though we were licked a hundred years before we started is no reason for us not to try to win”

that everyone needs a little grace and the benefit of the doubt

in finding joy in the journey, not the destination (not that I always succeed at this)

that I will always cry when Shadow runs over the hill to Peter, and at “Wanna have a catch?”, “I consider myself…the luckiest man…on the face of the earth…”, “to love another person is to see the face of God,” and “I got off the plane.”

that family always comes first

that love is everything
I Believe Link-Up

 

signature

4 thoughts on “I Believe…

  1. I haven’t read Harry Potter, haha! I’ve tried…ok, I tried in middle school but not since then…but I just don’t know. I think at this point I might just be afraid of getting sucked in haha.
    A million yeses to universal health care and education and $100k teacher’s salary’s (this from a former teacher). I didn’t quit because of the money but I would be lying if I said that had absolutely nothing to do with it. There’s just something defeating about starting a career and already knowing that you’ll never exceed a certain salary no matter what you do. It sends a really negative message about how valued your job is (or in this case, isn’t).

    • Maybe try Harry Potter audio books on runs or commutes? I’ve heard the narrator for those is really good.
      My mom’s a teacher, and she has a Master’s degree, and my entry-level salary on my first job out of college nearly matched hers. And then people say teachers shouldn’t be in it for the money, but only because they love teaching kids (same argument for why writers and artists should starve and suffer for their art) and they “only” work until 3 in the afternoon and get summers off…ugh! I could rant about that for days.

  2. Oh my gosh, I absolutely LOVE your list!! Thank you so much for linking up. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one with strong views on Harry Potter. 😉 And if I were a more aggressive driver, I would totally prevent all those people from cutting back in!! But I’m too timid. 😦

    • Thanks Megan! The Harry Potter one came from watching the last movie over Christmas and my 18-year-old cousin came over and had no clue what was going on. Great link-up!

Leave a Reply

