Oh Hey, Friday! | (Another) 5 Moments of Gratitude

Another 5 Moments of Gratitude {the ponytail diaries}

This has been a weird week. Like, on Tuesday I was thinking it was still Monday and by Thursday I was all “it’s Friday! Wait…no…”

Also. Is anyone watching Gotham? Husband and I just got caught up and I’m a little surprised by how much I’m loving it. Husband has always been a HUGE Batman fan and read the original graphic novels growing up, so he really likes how they’re planting seeds for characters (like Enigma, Catwoman, Poison Ivy, etc.). And I love the social commentary they’re weaving in (like social justice/vigilante-ism and treatment of the mentally ill or “criminally insane”).

But I can’t look at Ben McKenzie without thinking Ryan Atwood. So there’s that.


1 | Craft beer
I’m starting to think the best part about living in the craft beer capital of the country (world?) is that brewers are almost forced to get more and more creative in order to stand out. Now, I have mixed feelings about creativity for creativity’s sake (but that’s another post) but where else can you sample a pumpkin spice stout, a cilantro IPA, and an horchata imperial stout? Belching Beaver, that’s where.

2 | Flannel shirts
So warm. So cozy. So yes.

3 | My “hygge” boots
“Hygge” is a Danish word that very loosely translates to “coziness.” My “hygge” boots are both Danish (bought in Copenhagen) and prettttty much the coziest boots ever. It’s finally cool enough to wear them for Onyx’s evening walks! That makes me happy!

4 | Knitting
Have I talked about knitting here yet? I just love watching something come together from a loose ball of yarn. And watching it come together from my own hands is even cooler.

5 | Meal planning
Husband and I keep saying we need to get better at doing this (we’re even talking about making it an “official” resolution for us) to save cash and eat healthy-ish and not waste food (one of my pet peeves). And to avoid that 4:30 “what do you want for dinner?” “I dunno, we can do XYZ but we’ll need to go to the store…” conversations. We meal planned the heck out of this week and aside from me forgetting to prep and slow-cook the black beans, it’s gone so well. AND we managed to plan meals that make lots of leftovers so lunches have been taken care of without even trying. BOOM. LOOK AT US BE GROWN-UPS.

signature

Leave a Reply

