Tour of Blogland

Tour of Blogland: Ponytail Diaries Version

So, you’re probably seen this little blog meme going around by now — I’m pretty stoked I get to participate, thanks to Kat at Lemonade Linings, because I honestly figured I was too much of a blogging noob to get noticed.

1. What am I working on?

Building, building, building — this blog, my professional site, my writing cred and career, a home, a life with my “pack” (Husband and Onyx). I’m working on getting in a regular rhythm of creating and writing, on getting up the nerve to get rejected, on my voice and my style. And I’m working on devoting a little time each week, when I can sneak it in, to some fiction writing, just for fun, because I’ll never give up on my dream of publishing a bestselling novel.

2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?

…By not really having a genre? Right now, Ponytail Diaries is a “niche-free lifestyle blog” that, I’m coming to find, is about exploring and musing and mulling things over, more than anything. The thoughts I have swimming around constantly in my head? I finally have a place to get them out and sift through them and try to make sense of them here. A lot of my posts read like brain dumps or word vomit — they’re like first drafts of what could be personal essays or opinion pieces. I’m trying to let that develop naturally, while at the same time being aware of it and steering or guiding it, as I fine-tune the voice/style/purpose of this blog. Once I get that hammered out, I’ll start looking for more opportunities to grow.

3. Why do I write/create what I do?

Because otherwise I’d go a little crazy. Because for three years, I’d come home from work and think, “what did I do today?” and the answer was usually “spreadsheets” or “Facebook posts.” I took up knitting almost exactly a year ago because I was honest-to-God yearning to create something tangible and real with my own two hands. Writing is weird in that, today more than ever, you spend hours and hours putting forth real effort without having an actual “thing” to show for it, yet when you’re done, something does exist that doesn’t before. I think that’s pretty cool. I don’t think I actually answered this question.

4. How does my writing/creating process work?

It just…does? Okay, speaking strictly of blog posts, I get an idea — from something that happens, from a run, from another post or article online, from a conversation, from TV, whatever. I typically have some thoughts, phrases, sentences bouncing around in my head. I open up WordPress and just…start getting it out. Along the way I try to figure out what I’m actually trying to say and how to best express it (I don’t always fully do that, though). I don’t edit posts nearly as much as I should (in a perfect world, I’d start with brainstorming and outlining and pre-writing and drafting and editing and re-writing. That obviously doesn’t happen). In a nutshell, I just try to get the words out on paper or screen, then figure out what to do with them.

Share the Love

I’m tagging/nominating three awesome chicks to join in this tour…meet Mariah, Miss Nutralicious, and Tracy!

Tour of Blogland: Mariah @ Food, Booze, & Baggage

divider line

Tour of Blogland: Miss Nutralicious

divider line

Tour of Blogland: Tracy @ Tracy Tris

Check out these ladies and their blogs and enjoy!

signature

7 thoughts on “Tour of Blogland

  1. I can relate to the whole 9-5 thing, that is basically what started my blog as well. I just felt like most of my day was so pointless and the blog gave me a place to learn and be creative. I’m pretty sure not having/taking enough time to edit is a recurring them for most bloggers πŸ™‚ Thanks for the nomination!

  2. I’m with you on blogging to create. Sometimes its just so nice to sit down, type a post, and put something creative out into the world. It really makes ya feel productive, especially after a day full of data entry! πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for tagging me in the Tour of Blogland!

  3. I like that you’re niche-free! Sometimes I think it’s really obvious when a blog tries to tailor all posts to a certain topic. It can come off really impersonal and I like the personal aspect of blogging way more than anything else. Thanks for nominating me! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Tour Of Blogland

Leave a Reply

