September Reading Round-Up

September Reading Round-Up {the ponytail diaires}

Slow month for some reason. I still have a stack of (renewed) library books waiting for me, and honestly, I’m wanting to get done with this so I can move back to what’s on my bookshelf.

John Steinbeck, the Errant KnightJohn Steinbeck, the errant knight: An intimate biography of his California years

I finally read a biography! And it was awesome. If you know anything about me as a reader, you know that I LOVE John Steinbeck. Like, as far as I’m concerned, when it comes to classic American Literature, there’s him and Mark Twain and a bunch of other nerds. This book covered his childhood in Salinas, his years as an off-again on-again student at Stanford, and his early writing career — basically up until Grapes of Wrath and the success it brought him. There’s a short final chapter and epilogue that skims over the rest of his life, after he and his third wife move to New York.

In short, I found this very readable and fascinating, and if you’re into Steinbeck but don’t know many details about his life, you’ll enjoy it.

 

Her Royal SpynessHer Royal Spyness

This was surprisingly totally pleasant and fun to read. I expected to get bored with it quickly, but actually really enjoyed it. Lady Georgiana is 34th in line to the throne in the early 1930s, so if you’re into semi-Downton Abbey-type historical fiction (royal scandals, murders, the whole deal) and that typical spunky-yet-naive heroine, this is a great light read.

It’s also the first in a series featuring Lady Georgiana as this British Nancy Drew, and while I won’t go out of my way to read the rest of the books, if I see one at the library, I’ll probably pick it up.

In Progress/Upcoming

In Cold Blood (Vintage International)

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness

The Amber Spyglass: His Dark Materials

Open

The Tender Bar: A Memoir

Finn: A Novel

Currently:
Fiction: 8/12
Biographies: 2/12
Non-fiction: 2/12

What have you read/are you reading lately?

photo credit: byb64 via photopin cc

All Amazon links are affiliate.

signature

https://d3ijcis4e2ziok.cloudfront.net/tpc-check.html

Leave a Reply

