Weekly Wishes: New Site! Edition

Weekly Wishes {ponytail diaries}I’m linking up with Melyssa at Nectar Collective today to share my wishes/goals for week. Join in!

I finally had a (slightly) lazier weekend! Two volunteer opportunities, but both took just a few hours each day and I was done relatively early. Plus we (Husband, Onyx, and me) squeezed in a quick run at the beach on Saturday, and Husband and I had a date night Sunday night (thanks to some Cheesecake Factory gift cards). We finally started watching House of Cards, so after dinner, we got a slice of cheesecake to go and enjoyed that while watching Frank Underwood’s dealings.

Moving on!

Last Week’s Wishes

01 | open a business checking account
I’m going to the bank tomorrow…

02 | bite the bullet and purchase a domain name
DONE – domain AND hosting! And I spent way too many hours searching through WordPress themes and chose one and purchased it. So that’s a big first step taken care of (I should mention this is for what will be my “professional/business” site, so Ponytail Diaries won’t be changing — yet).

03 | meditate with oprah & deepak
Guys, meditation is, like, hard. It’s amazing how next-to-impossible it is to sit still and not think about stuff for 20 minutes. But I have been keeping up with the daily meditation (except for yesterday, whoops). I’ve been doing them at night, and can’t imagine doing that in the morning because I’m soooo sleepy when I finish. One thing I’ve already noticed is that I’m sleeping more soundly (I think), but my dreams have been way crazy and vivid. Which happens from time to time (I’ll have a week or two of just bizarre dreams that I clearly remember the next day — normally I forget dreams within 5 minutes of waking up), so I’m not sure if that’s related to the meditation or not.

04 | figure out some time management systems
Hah, no. Last week my schedule got really weird for a few days and I gave up on the paper-tracking systems. But I signed up for a free trial with a time-tracking and invoicing tool, Harvest, that I’m going to try this week and see if it works for me.

August Break 2014 Instagram

some of my #augustbreak2014 shots

This Week’s Wishes

01 | t-shirt upcycling
Just for fun, because I have a stack of t-shirts from all sorts of events. Some I can easily get rid of, some I want to turn into cute tanks and whatnot. And then I’ll be able to clear out a corner of my closet.

02 | develop some services packages
With my copy writing and editing, I totally recognize the need most small businesses and entrepreneurs (my target audience) have for social media. I don’t necessarily want to be a social media marketer (that’s what I was doing in my old job), but I can offer some help in that area, and it could be a lower-cost entry point to gain clients.

03 | start figuring out my new site
Now that I have the space, I need to make it work. Installing the theme, writing the About and Services pages, planning an editorial calendar…

04 | keep up with the meditation and artist’s way
Ugh, I’m actually repeating Week 2 of the Artist’s Way because I fell so off-track with it last week.

What are your goals this week?

The Nectar Collective
 
PS Still going strong with August Break 2014 on Instagram — join in and follow me!

signature

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wishes: New Site! Edition

Leave a Reply

