Goals and Challenges for August

August Goals

So, since I completely missed the ball on Monday’s Weekly Wishes post, I figured I’d do a whole separate post about some of my larger goals for August (and probably going into to September and the rest of the year). Because apparently without really intending it, August has become my month of challenges. To wit:

>> I’m starting The Artist’s Way (again) (for real this time) (hopefully).

>> I’m participating in Susannah Conway’s #augustbreak2014 photography challenge (sharing my shots on Instagram, follow/join me!).

>> I’m trying Oprah’s and Deepak Chopra’s 21-day meditation challenge starting next Monday.

>> I’m trying to get back to a regular gym/weight-lifting habit, but in the meantime, I’ve been doing 100 squats, 100 bicycle crunches, and 30 push-ups daily (I’m planning on taking a rest day from that once a week.

I’m already thinking next month I’ll add 10 minutes a day of yoga or doing 3-5 sun salutations every morning on top of all that. Because I have way too much time on my hands, right? Only not. But I think the idea, especially with the meditation and yoga, is to start using my time more mindfully and purposefully, to do things that help me stay alert and focused so it seems like I have more time…or something?

And there’s so much more I want to do! Finish some knitting projects and start on others. Play with some graphic design stuff now that I have Photoshop again. Take more photos with my SLR. Take Onyx on more hikes. Find more clients and earn some dollars (this should probably be first on my list).

Rewind: July Goals

I’ll be honest, I wrote these down for that post and then…pretty much put them out of my mind. Some people say that writing things down gives them more reality, or something — you’re encourage to write down your goals or intentions because the act of putting pen to paper (or pixels to…screen?) makes it more important in your mind and signals your commitment. For me, it’s like the idea flows from my mind to my fingers to my pen or keyboard and…it’s gone. I will read something I wrote from a week ago and have literally no memory of coming up with those words myself.

Anyway. That said, I didn’t do too terribly with those last month. We’ve still got a loooong way to go with the de-cluttering and organizing, but we had the garage sale, made a few bucks, gave everything else to Goodwill/sold on Craigslist, and will say good riddance to our storage unit in the next week or so (before they bill us again for next month). But I see some trips to Container Store/Target/Ikea/TJ Maxx in our future as we figure out how to maximize every square inch of potential storage space in our apartment.

Have fun on vacation? Well, duh. I also made it through over two straight months of being out of town or having major plans every. single. weekend. Of course, I’m looking at my first “free” weekend coming up and what do I do? Fill it with a bunch of plans. But fun ones! Low-key ones! That don’t involve me leaving the county or sleeping somewhere that isn’t my bed!

Baby steps.

And then there’s developing a plan for the blog. And really, my whole freelance career. Here’s where I really want to focus in August. Because I did this, a little, or tried to, but it’s all half-conceived ideas and scribbles in different notebooks and notes jotted in Google Docs but not a single, cohesive plan or statement saying “This is what I’m doing, this is what I want, and this is how I’m gonna get there.” That’s my big whopping professional goal. That, and building a professional, self-hosted website. Nothing fancy for now, I just need something and in the future I’ll probably spring for a custom design and some advanced features.

And my big whopping fitness goal – get ready to train for a sub-4:00 marathon. I think I’ll be using one of Hal Higdon’s 16-week plans as a base for my training, which I’ll be starting September 15th. So for the next, what, five weeks, I want to build a solid base of 25-30 mile weeks — and definitely get back into 30-minute lifting sessions twice a week.

So that’s what my August (and September) is looking like.

signature

Leave a Reply

