Onyx’s Rescue Story

Onyx's Rescue Story

Onyx here.

On Monday, I will have been living with my two humans for two years. Before that, I stayed with some other people for a few months. And before that, I lived with some horrible, awful people.

Those horrible people made me not really like other people that much. You just never know if they’re going to be mean or not. So when we go outside, I try to keep my distance from other people. And I really don’t like it when people I don’t know come to our apartment.

But my humans are awesome! They take me for walks EVERY DAY (and sometimes runs in the park!). They feed me every day and give me extra snacks when they eat. They let me sleep inside and take me on adventures (some of which I like more than others…).

It took me awhile to believe that they were keeping me and would take care me. Once, after I’d stayed with them for a couple months, they took me to someone else’s house and left me there. So I escaped and ran around in a canyon for a few days. But they found me and brought me back to their home. Eventually I figured out that we were going to be a pack. I’d never had a pack before.

One of my humans, Allison, stays home with me all day now, which is pretty great. Mostly she sits at her desk, but I make her take breaks to play sometimes, and I help her when she goes to the kitchen and stand guard when she goes to the bathroom. We’re pretty much BFFs, as they say.

PSA from Allison: Rescuing Onyx was absolutely one of the best decisions we ever made. If you’re considering getting a dog, please, please consider adopting one from a shelter or rescue organization. If you have your heart set on a specific breed, try Googling “[breed] rescue [your city].” Or at least do your research and find a reputable, responsible breeder instead of going to a pet store that supports puppy mills. But seriously, adopt a rescue dog. It’s so worth it.

Leave a Reply

